Government Benefits

Arc Guide to Acronyms in Health and Human Services

ABLE Act:   Achieving a Better Life Experience Act

ACA:         Affordable Care Act

ACO:         Accountable Care Organization

ADA:         Americans with Disabilities Act

ADL:        Activities of Daily Living

AFC:        Adult Foster Care

AGI:         Adjusted Gross Income

ARMHS:    Adult Rehabilitative Mental Health Services

ASD:        Autism Spectrum Disorder

AT:          Assistive Technology

BI:           Brain Injury

CAC:        Community Alternative Care

CADI:       Community Access for Disability Inclusion

CDCS:      Consumer Directed Community Supports

CEHI:       Cost Effective Health Insurance

CEP:        Common Entry Point

CFC:        Corporate Foster Care

CFR:        County of Financial Responsibility

CFSS:       Community First Services and Supports

CHIP:       Children’s Health Insurance Program

CMS:        Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

COBRA:    Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act

COLA:      Cost Of Living Adjustment

CSG:        Consumer Support Grant

CSP:         Community Support Plan

CSSP:       Coordinated Service and Support Plan

CTSS:       Children’s Therapeutic Services and Supports

DD:          Developmental Disabilities

DEED:      Department of Economic and Employment Services

DHS:        Department of Human Services

DTH:       Day Training and Habilitation

DME:       Durable Medical Equipment

DWRS:     Disability Waiver Rate Setting

EIDBI:      Early Intensive Developmental and Behavioral Intervention

ELP:        Essential Lifestyle Planning

EOB:       Explanation of Benefits

EOMB:     Explanation of Medical Benefits

FASD:      Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder

FFS:        Fee For Service

FPL:       Federal Poverty Level

FSA:       Flexible Spending Account

FSE:       Fiscal Support Entity

FMS:       Financial Management Service

FMLA:     Family and Medical Leave Act

FSG:       Family Support Grant

GA:         General Assistance

GRH:       Group Residential Housing

HAC:       Housing Access Coordination

HAS:        Housing Access Services

HCAPP:    Health Care Application

HCBS:      Home and Community Based Services

HHA:       Home Health Aide

HHS:       Health and Human Services

HIPAA:    Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act

HMO:      Health Maintenance Organization

HRA:       Health Reimbursement Account

HSA:        Health Savings Account

I/DD:       Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities

IADL:       Instrumental Activities of Daily Living

ICF/DD:   Intermediate Care Facility/Developmental Disability

IHO:        Individualized Housing Options

ISP:          Individual Service Plan

LOC:         Level of Care

LTC:          Long Term Care

LTCC:        Long Term Care Consultation

LTSS:         Long Term Care Services and Supports

MA:           Medical Assistance/Medicaid

MA-EPD:     Medical Assistance for Employed Persons with Disabilities

MA-TEFRA: Medical Assistance- Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act

MAGI:        Modified Adjusted Gross Income

MAPS:       Making Action Plans/McGill Action Planning System

MCO:        Managed Care Organization

MCRE:      MinnesotaCare

MDH:       Minnesota Department of Health

METO:      Minnesota Extended Treatment Options

MHCP:     Minnesota Health Care Programs

MSOCS:   Minnesota State Operated Community Services

MSA:       Minnesota Supplemental Aid

NF:         Nursing Facility

OCR:       Office of Civil Rights

OIO:        Olmstead Implementation Office

OT:         Occupational Therapy

PATH:     Planning Alternative Tomorrows with Hope

PASS:      Plan to Achieve Self Support

PCA:       Personal Care Assistance

PCP:       Person Centered Planning

PCPO:     Personal Care Provider Organization

PCT:       Person Centered Thinking

PDN:       Private Duty Nursing

PFP:        Personal Futures Planning

PHN:       Public Health Nurse

PMAP:     Prepaid Medical Assistance Plan

PT:         Physical Therapy

QA:         Quality Assurance

QP:          Qualified Professional

RC:          Related Condition

RSDI:        Retirement, Survivors, Disability Insurance

SES:         Supportive Employment Services

SILS:        Semi-Independent Living Services

SLS:         Supportive Living Services

SMRT:      State Medical Review Team

SNAP:      Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program

SNBC:      Special Needs Basic Care

SNF:       Skilled Nursing Facility

SNT:       Special/Supplemental Needs Trust

SNV:       Skilled Nursing Visits

SSA:       Social Security Administration

SSDI:      Social Security Disability Insurance

SSI:        Supplemental Security Income

SSN:      Social Security Number

TBI:       Traumatic Brain Injury

TCM:      Targeted Case Management

VR:        Vocational Rehabilitation

VA:         Vulnerable Adult

WIC:       Women, Infants and Children

WIOA:    Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act

For further information or advocacy services, contact The Arc Minnesota at 952-920-0855 or toll-free at 833.450.1494 or visit (Please note: This document is not legal advice, and should not be construed as such. Thus, no information herein should replace the sound advice of an attorney.)

All rights reserved (c) 2019 The Arc Minnesota